Register to vote for this year’s local election

Posted on 06 March 2012 by Weymouth & Portland Borough Council

Residents must be registered to vote in this year’s elections.

Voters will go to the polls in May to decide who they wish to represent them on Weymouth & Portland Borough Council.

Residents who want to vote at this year’s local election need to be on the Electoral Register by 5pm on Wednesday 18 April.

The election will take place on 3 May.

If voters are away on holiday or are unable to get to their polling station on 3 May they can apply to vote by post. Application forms to do so are available by calling 01305 838299. Deadline for applications is 5pm on Wednesday 18 April 2012

It is also possible to vote by proxy, where somebody will vote on your behalf.

Anyone who wishes to vote by proxy and has not done so before must be registered by 5pm on Wednesday 25 April.

Tophill East, Upwey & Broadway and Wey Valley will not be having elections this year.

Cllr Mike Goodman, Brief Holder for Corporate Affairs and Continuous Improvement at Weymouth & Portland Borough Council, said: “Elections play a crucial role in the shaping of your local council.

“It is important that people who wish to take part and vote register by the closing date.”

For further details about how to register, contact Electoral Services at Weymouth & Portland Borough Council, on 01305 838299 or visit

(Links marked with "New window icon" open in a new window)

For more information, please contact:

Link to Weymouth and Portland Borough Council contact information
Weymouth and Portland Borough Council
Council Offices
North Quay

Twitter: #wpbc
Or email us:

Or call us:
(01305) 838000
Please read the terms and conditions before posting New window icon"

Leave a Reply

                                              To find information about where you live, just enter your postcode below.

Latest news from each council:

Local news sources:

BBC Dorset
Bournemouth Echo
Bridport News
Dorset Echo
Western Gazette
Wessex FM

(All links open in a new window)